Not a member yet? Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?

2016 Finley Awards

From the President, News | Comments Off on 2016 Finley Awards

The Robert Finley Awards

The 42nd Annual Robert Finley Awards ceremony was held in the Heath Ledger Theatre on Saturday 17th December 2016. All the productions that Playlovers presented in 2016 received nominations in the awards, with a total of 14 nominations. The Trolleys production was the most awarded, winning 2 categories as listed below. 

Additionally, two of our members, John Woolrych and Lyn Hutcheon, were inducted into the ITA Hall of Fame, and Playlovers received an Adjudicators Certificate For continuing to produce work under adversity 

Congratulations to everyone who contributed to these successes.

List of Playlovers Awards and Nominations

Best Youth Production

Winner        The Trolleys

The Brian Maddocks Award for Youth in a Play

Winner         George O’Doherty, The Trolleys

Nominated   Leo Rimmer, The Trolleys;  Gemma Vu, The Trolleys

The Veronica Overton-Low Award for Best Youth in a Musical

Winner          Sophia Matthews, A Little Princess

Nominated   Stephanie Shaw, A Little Princess;  Jasmine Dos Santos, A Little Princess

The Hywell Williams Award for Technical Achievement

Nominated    The Trolleys

Best Supporting Actress (Musical) 

Nominated     Sophia Matthews, A Little Princess 

Best Director (Play) – Susan Hayward Award 

Nominated     Alide Chaney, The Memory of Water 

Best Actress (Play) 

Nominated     Michelle Varley, The Memory of Water 

Best Supporting Actress (Play) 

Nominated     Anastatia Ward, , The Memory of Water 

Best Costumes (Play) – The Brenda Stanley Award 

Nominated      The Memory of Water 

Best Play 

Nominated     The Memory of Water

The full list of all Finley awards and winners is on the ITA website at